The Mildred S. Christian Career Achievement Award

ATS established the Mildred S. Christian Career Achievement Award to honor the memory of Dr. Christian, known to many as “Millie.” She gave much of her time and financial resources to the Academy and helped to make the ATS into an efficient and scientifically recognized organization. Many of the policies and practices used today benefit from her efforts.

The award is conferred upon an ATS Fellow who has clearly demonstrated a lasting impact on toxicological sciences. The criteria for the award include, but are not limited to, the following:

  1. The awardee must be an ATS Fellow in good standing as either a full ATS Fellow or ATS Emeritus. A Fellow that is a current member of the Board of Directors of ATS is not eligible to receive the award.
  2. The awardee must have demonstrated extraordinary scientific achievement through publications, professional activities, and/or leadership that have enhanced the practice of toxicology as judged by the Board of Directors.


The ATS Board of Directors is requesting nominations from the ATS Fellows for the 2018 Mildred S. Christian Award. If you believe an ATS Fellow meets the criteria for this award, we request that you submit a letter of support along with the nominee’s curriculum vitae to Susie Masten, Executive Director at for the Board’s consideration. The deadline for receipt of nominations for the 2018 award is December 1, 2017. Nominations submitted for the 2017 award will remain in active consideration for the 2018 award.


2018 Award Recipient

Linda S. Birnbaum, PhD, DABT, ATS


To see past award recipients, click here